Active Voice: ACSM Publications Committee Announces Paper of the Year Award
By Jeffrey Potteiger, Ph.D., FACSM, and Katie Feltman, ACSM Chief Content Officer, Staff Liaison

Jeffrey Potteiger Katie Feltman
Authorship of a published paper in any of ACSM’s five highly acclaimed journals takes considerable time, effort and determination to accomplish. Countless hours of work result in a submitted manuscript that must undergo a rigorous peer-review process that ensures only the top manuscripts are accepted for publication. The final product, an accepted manuscript, eventually becomes a published paper that is viewed by scientists, clinicians, practicing professionals, students and the public around the world. The rewards of a published paper include, but are not limited to, furthering the knowledge of science and practice, support for future research activities and professional advancement.

During the past six months, ACSM leadership and staff, members of the ACSM Publications Committee and the editors-in-chief of ACSM’s five journals have considered additional ways to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of authors who have published in an ACSM journal. After many discussions, we proudly announce the establishment of an annual Paper of the Year award for each of ACSM’s journals. The process to identify the award winner required each editor-in-chief to work with their journal’s associate editors to select a paper based on the criteria of significance and impact of the article.

Paper of the Year award recipients will be announced annually in Sports Medicine Bulletin in conjunction with the ACSM Annual Meeting. Principle authors and co-authors also will be recognized in an issue of the publishing journal following the annual meeting. Authors will have an opportunity to present a five-minute summary during the publications symposium at annual meeting and will receive a recognition plaque. This year presents an opportunity to bring the publications symposium and Paper of the Year recognitions to ACSM members in unique and engaging ways. Stay tuned in the coming weeks for more news on how these papers will be shared.

In the meantime, we are pleased to announce the 2019 Paper of the Year awards: About the authors:
Jeffrey Potteiger, Ph.D., FACSM, serves as the chair of ACSM’s Publications Committee. He is the dean of the Graduate School at Grand Valley State University and is also a professor in the university’s Department of Movement Science. Connect with Dr. Potteiger at

Katie Feltman serves as chief content officer for ACSM, overseeing the editorial services office and serving as staff liaison for the publications committee. Connect with Katie at

Viewpoints presented in SMB commentaries reflect opinions of the authors and do not necessarily represent positions or policies of ACSM. Active Voice authors who have received financial or other considerations from a commercial entity associated with their topic must disclose such relationships at the time they accept an invitation to write for SMB.