Celebrating Excellence

The Second Annual NAGC Celebration of Excellence was a joyous setting for the presentation of accolades to our field's leaders.

NAGC recognized the talents and accomplishments of our bright stars in the field of gifted education at the Celebration on Nov. 15, in Denver. The honorees:

Ann Isaacs Founders Memorial Award
Nicholas Colangelo

President's Award
Chester E. Finn, Jr.

Distinguished Scholar Award
Ann Robinson

Distinguished Service Award
Julia Link Roberts

NAGC/Ball State Administrator Award
Kathleen Steele

David W. Belin Advocacy Award
Virginia Burney

Hollingworth Award
Carlton Fong

Early Scholar Award
Megan Foley Nicpon

Early Leader Award
Alicia Cotabish

Community Service Award
Terry and Betsy Considine

Doctoral Student Awards
Tracy Missett
Sarah Oh
Nielsen Pereira
Yang Yang

Masters' and Specialists' Award (formerly the Non-Doctoral Student Award)
Jennifer Houghton Canady

Gifted Child Quarterly Paper of the Year
The Effects of Acceleration on High-Ability Learners: A Meta-Analysis
Saiying Steenbergen-Hu, Duke University, Durham, N.C.; Sidney M. Moon, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind., Vol. 55, issue 1, pp. 39-53